2009 R&R Sport – Auckland MTB Club Spring Series Final standings

Well done to everyone that took part in the 2009 series and made it around some tough courses this year. Even though it was only three races we think we put together a pretty tough series and every finisher of every race and category should be congratulated.

Sunday we handed out series trophies to the Expert Open men and women top 3 and Singlespeed Men top 3 (maybe we can get some females trying out the singlespeeds next year). We also gave certificates to every category for the top 3 series places. The final list of series results is at the bottom of this post.

In the Expert Open Men, Oliver Whalley put on a dominating and consistent display, finishing 3rd, 2nd and then first in the final race to wrap up the series and become the 2009 Auckland Champion (male). JP Tobin (a windsurfer of all things!) took out 2nd place overall after a couple of good results and a superb ride from the young Tom Fox saw him take out 3rd overall.

In the Expert Open Women, the same six girls fought it out at every round and ripped around the course at break-neck pace. Raewyn Morrison put on a superb display to take the series title and the honour of Auckland Champion (female) with three wins from three leaving two long-time rivals to battle it out for 2nd and 3rd. In the end Adrienne Hooper had the strength to take out 2nd place overall with Sasha Smith picking up 3rd place overall.

In the Singlespeed Open category The Turquoise Warrior took out the Auckland Singlespeed Champion title with three superb wins from three, leaving the other singlespeeders a good few minutes back down the road in each race. Hayden Russel and Bevan Falloon battled it out for the other podium spots with Hayden squeezing Bevan out to claim 2nd overall and Bevan taking third.

Here are some podium shots:

Well done to everyone that took part and in particular, well done to the new Auckland champions. Maybe next year we could have some Auckland Champions from Auckland…….

Thanks again to everyone that gave their time to help with rego, race timing, course set up and clear up, marshal duties and to the JAFAKIDS for taking on the BBQ duties this year.

These events take a lot of effort to put together so a big thanks to the current committee members for all their hard work during the build up and to Mark and Kelly Topliss for all their help too.

The series will be back in 2010 and hopefully back to 4 races. These things don’t just happen and if you are keen to help us put these events together, please get in touch. If you’re a racer, we’ll make sure that you’ll have no race-day duties, it just helps to have more people involved in the build up and there is always room around the table 🙂

Enjoy the rest of the summer events and we’ll see you again soon.


This entry was posted in Misc, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s